How does the ghouls’ leap attack work in Draw Steel?
Room D3 in The Delia Tomb contains a number of ghouls with a leap attack. Well, actually it’s a leap movement that can result in an attack. Everyone I’ve played with and have spoken with about the encounter has been confused as to how the ghouls’ leap works. On the surface, it seems clear:
The ghoul moves forward a few squares through the air and if it lands on an enemy a certain size, the enemy is knocked prone and the ghoul deals free strike damage.
But how does jump work exactly?
So, how does the ghouls’ leap work then?
The ghoul raises to a height of 1 and moves up to 3 squares, allowing it to pass over things like pits or walls that are shorter than size 1.
If the ghoul finishes their move in the same square as a size 1 enemy, which includes all the available player ancestries as of writing, the enemy is knocked prone.
Then the ghoul makes a free attack against the creature.
But what does landing on something mean?
Well, one way to read it is that landing on something is the same as falling on something, in which case:
It looks like the ghoul ends up prone in an unoccupied space, probably adjacent to their target.
You might argue that the ghoul is not engaging in an uncontrolled descent, a fall, but rather a controlled descent, because the ghoul has some control over what’s happening to it. However, the rules don’t differentiate between falling because you got kicked out a window and falling because you jumped out.
This suggests that, Rules as Written, you’re intended to treat the ghoul’s jump as a fall when it ends its Leap in the same square as another creature.
That’s not very cinematic though, is it? It feels like the ghoul should have a rule where it doesn’t fall prone after Leaping.
Given that feeling, and a lack of ruling on the matter, I ran the ghouls as finishing their move standing in the closest unoccupied square of the Director’s choice after their leap.